Alberta Public Holidays 2024

Alberta is one of the 13 provinces and territories in Canada and is one of the three prairie provinces. Edmonton is the second largest city and its capital city of Alberta. Calgary is the largest city in Alberta, and the other main cities are; Banff, Drumheller, Fort McMurray, Jasper, Lethbridge, Leduc, Medicine Hat, and Red Deer.

Alberta Public holidays 2024 are below;

Event 2024 Holiday
New Year’s Day Monday, January 1
Family Day Monday, February 19
Good Friday Friday, March 29
Easter Monday* Monday, April 1
Victoria Day Monday, May 20
Canada Day Monday,, July 1
Heritage Day Monday, August 5
Alberta Day**** Sunday,, September 1
Labour Day Monday, September 2
National Day for Truth and Reconciliation** Monday,, September 30
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 14
Remembrance Day Monday,, November 11
Christmas Day Wednesday, December 25
Boxing Day*** Thursday, December 26

* For banks and government offices only.
** National Day for Truth and Reconciliation is not a provincial stat holiday in Alberta but is a holiday for all federal employees in Alberta, Click here for more details
*** Boxing day is not a statutory holiday in Alberta but it’s a paid holiday for many non-retail businesses.
***** Alberta day is not a provincial holiday, Click here for more details.

Alberta joined the Canadian Confederation on September 1, 1905 and it’s the 6th largest province in Canada. Alberta shares its border with British Columbia to the west, Saskatchewan to the east, the Northwest Territories (NWT) to the north, and Montana (a U.S. state) to the south. The main attractions in Alberta are; The Canadian Rocky Mountains, Drumheller Royal Tyrell Dinosaur Museum, the Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump, Waterton International Park, Wood Buffalo National Park, Writing-on-Stone Provincial Park, Banff glaciers Jasper National Park, Sylvan Lake, Lake Louise, etc.

For other Canadian Provincial holiday details click below;


You may also like...

Leave a Reply