Public Holidays in Canada

See below for the list of Public Holidays in Canada as per the Canadian Labour Code, all the below holidays are paid off-days for the Federal and Provincial Government employees. The holidays listed in the Canadian Labour Code are not observed as stat holidays in all provinces and territories, and each province of Canada has its own provincial holidays.  Check the provincial holiday list for more details.

For Canadian Provincial holiday details click below;


 Observance    English  French Remarks
January 1 New Year’s Day Nouvel an (Jour de l’an) Statutory. Celebrate the first day of every year in the Gregorian calendar.
Friday before Easter Sunday Good Friday vendredi saint Statutory, except in Quebec where Easter Monday is statutory. Acknowledges the crucifixion of Jesus Christ, traditionally on 3 April, 33 AD; see Good Friday article for details. Not fully observed in Quebec.
Monday on or before May 24 Victoria Day fête de la Reine Statutory, except in New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island. Celebration of the birthday of the current Canadian monarch. (Originally, May 24 was the birthday of Queen Victoria.) In Quebec, Victoria Day and National Patriotes Day (Commemoration of the Lower Canada Rebellion) are celebrated on the same day.
July 1 Canada Day fête du Canada Statutory. Commemoration of Canada’s 1867 Confederation. In Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada Day and Memorial Day (Commemoration of the Battle of the Somme) are celebrated on the same day.
First Monday in September Labour Day fête du travail Statutory holiday in all Provinces
September 30 National Day for Truth and Reconciliation Journée nationale de la vérité et de la réconciliation Statutory, The government of Canada passed legislation in 2021 to make September 30 a federal statutory holiday called the National Day for Truth and Reconciliation, ensuring that the tragic history and ongoing legacy of residential schools is never forgotten.  British Columbia, Manitoba, Nova Scotia, and the Northwest Territories, are observing this as a provincial holiday.
Second Monday in October Thanksgiving Day action de grâce Statutory, except in New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island. A day of general thanks for one’s blessings. (Note: Thanksgiving is not celebrated on the same day as it is in the U.S.)
November 11 Remembrance Day jour du souvenir Statutory holiday everywhere except Ontario, Quebec, and Newfoundland, and Labrador. Commemoration of Canada’s war heroes. Anniversary of the armistice ending World War I in 1918.
December 25 Christmas Day Noël Statutory. Celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ; traditionally 25 December.
December 26 Boxing Day lendemain de Noël Statutory in Ontario and federal jurisdictions. The day when shops sell off excess Christmas inventory. It is not an official holiday in Quebec or British Columbia.

Each province of Canada has its own provincial holiday(s). Although not official holidays, Valentine’s Day, St. Patrick’s Day, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, and Hallowe’en are traditionally celebrated by Canadians.

The observance of individuals’ religious holidays is widely accepted as well (see Multiculturalism). For example, some school children and employees take days off for Jewish holidays, Muslim holidays, or Eastern Orthodox observances according to the Julian calendar.

For other Canadian Provincial holiday details click below;