Yukon Statutory Holidays 2021


Yukon Statutory Holidays

Yukon previously known as Yukon Territory is the smallest province or territory of Canada. Yukon shares its borders with the Northwest Territories to the east, by British Columbia to the south, and Alaska ( U.S. state) to the west, and it extends northward above the Arctic Circle to the Beaufort Sea. The capital city of Yukon is Whitehorse and it is the most populated city of the province.

Yukon was separated from the Northwest Territories in 1898 as Yukon Territory. On April 1, 2003 under the “Yukon Act 2003″‘  the official name changed from Yukon Territory to Yukon. As per the 2016 Census, Yukon is the least populated province or territory in Canada. Yukon rich in mineral deposits, and it is popular since the famous Klondike gold rush.

The main cities in Yukon are Whitehorse, Watson Lake, Haines Junction, Watson Lake, Carmacks, Faro, Pelly Crossing, Ross River, Tagish, etc. The main attractions in Yukon are; Yukon Wildlife Preserve, Tombstone Territorial Park, MacBride Museum, S. S. Klondike National Historic Site, Yukon Transportation Museum, Dredge No 4 National Historic Site, Emerald Lake, Sign Post Forest, Yukon Beringia Interpretive Center, Dawson City Museum, Takhini Hot Springs, Northern Lights center, Carcross Desert, etc.

The table below shows the Yukon Statutory Holidays 2021 or Yukon public holidays.

Event 2021 Holiday
New Year’s Day Friday, January 1
Good Friday Friday, April 2
Victoria Day Monday, May 24
National Indigenous Peoples Day Monday, June 21
Canada Day Thursday, July 1
 Discovery Day Monday, August 16
Labour Day Monday, September 6
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 11
Remembrance Day Thursday, November 11
Christmas Day Saturday, December 25

You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Dave Hookham says:

    You have posted incorrect info about THE YUKON. You posted “On March 27, 2002, Yukon separated from Northwest Territories and the official name changed from Yukon Territory to Yukon.”
    But the truth is the Yukon became seperate from the NWT and named “The Yukon Territory” in 1898.
    The name “the Yukon Territory” was officially changed to “Yukon” on April 1, 2003

Leave a Reply